News     Contact Us     Newsletter Sign-Up     Login

Commonly used acronyms by OCN London

AIV Approved Internal Verifier
AIVS Approved Internal Verifier Status
ALR Access Learner Registration
APRU Access to HE Diploma Providers Rules of Combination for named Diplomas and Units
AVA Access Validating Agency
DCS Direct Claim Status
EDI Electronic Data Interface
EV External Verification/Verifier
FAD Final Amended Document
IV Internal Verification/Verifier
IVA Internal Verifier Award
LR1 Learner Registration (form)
MAP Modular Access Programme
NCNF New Course Notification Form
OLRAC Offender Learning Recommendation for Award of Credit
QC Quality Committee
QR Quality Review/Reviewer
RAC Recommendation for Award of Credit
RoC Rule of Combination (for the achievement of a qualification)
TAA Tutor Assessor Award

General abbreviations and acronyms

AE Adult Education
AES Adult Education Service
ALG Association of London Government
APEL Accreditation of Prior Experiential Learning
APL Accreditation of Prior Learning
ARLC Access Recognition and Licensing Committee
AVA Access Validating Agency
CATS Credit Accumulation & Transfer System
CoVE Centre of Vocational Excellence
CPD Continuing Professional Development
CTLLS Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector
DDA Disability & Discrimination Act
DIUS Department for Innovation, Universities & Skills
DTLLS Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector
DWP Department for Work & Pensions
EAP English for Academic Purposes
ESOL English for Speakers of Other Languages
FAB Federation of Awarding Bodies
FAVA Federation of Access Validating Agencies
FE Further Education
FLT Foundation Learning Tier
HEI Higher Education Institution
IAG Information, Advice & Guidance
IiP Investors in People
LAD Learning Aims Database
LAR Learner Achievement Record
LLN(s) Lifelong Learning Network(s)
LPs Learning Partnerships
LRS Learner Registration System
LSIS Learning and Skills Improvement Service
LSN Learning Support Network
MIS Management Information Service
NDAQ National Database of Accredited Qualifications
NIACE National Institute of Adult & Continuing Learning
NEET Not in Employment, Education or Training
NETP National Employer Training Programme
NQF National Qualifications Framework
NVQ National Vocational Qualification
NOMS National Offender Management Service
NSAs National Skills Academies
OFQUAL Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator
OFSTED Office for Standards in Education
OLASS Offender Learning & Skills Service
PCDL Personal & Community Development Learning
PTLLS Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector
QA Quality Assurance
QAA Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education
QCF Qualifications & Credit Framework
SFA Skills Funding Agency
SME Small & Medium-sized Enterprise
SSC Sector Skills Council
TUC Trades Union Congress
UKCES UK Commission for Employment and Skills
ULN Unique Learner Number
VCS Voluntary and Community Sector