Related Events


Enquire about delivering Essential Digital Skills qualifications

OCN London Essential Digital Skills qualifications (EDSQs) are now available to deliver. Click here for information on how we can help you deliver EDSQs.

Why choose us for your Essential Digital Skills provision?

Key features

✅ Free access to bksb diagnostic assessments and learning materials 

✅ Accessible and inclusive assessment design supports a wide range of learners and minimises barriers to achievement

✅ Assessments feature real-life simulations of practical activities such as booking a train ticket

✅ Offline assessment and auto-marking papers ensure fast, stress-free turnaround of results

✅ Use of interactive workbooks enables assessment to be embedded easily into teaching and learning

✅ On-demand assessment and resits offer greater flexibility

Additional benefits

  • Expertise in developing digital skills qualifications
  • Outstanding centre support with named contacts for business support, curriculum and quality
  • Free EDSQ training for centre staff
  • Fully funded qualifications - Digital Entitlement ready
  • Work with one of the UK's most innovative and expanding awarding organisations

Who are these qualifications for?

Essential Digital Skills qualifications are ideal for all learners with low or no digital skills.

Our centres continue to feed-back about the different cohorts to whom they have been delivering EDSQs. Some of the most represented groups of learners include:

  • Adult learners as part of a programme of study
  • Entry level learners, including those with learning difficulties and disabilities
  • The short and long-term unemployed
  • ESOL learners
  • Older learners who may be less secure in their digital skills
  • Learners in a community learning context 

Also, they can be used to support your learners in addition to their main programme of study, including learners on apprenticeship programmes.

Why do we need  Essential Digital Skills qualifications?

In the UK, 11.3 million people (21%) lack the full basic range of digital skills and 4.3 million people (8%) have no digital skills at all, giving rise to inequalities in access to opportunities, knowledge, services and goods.

OCN London Essential Digital Skills qualifications at Entry 3 and Level 1 can help alleviate this by equipping the most vulnerable with the right tools to 'safely benefit from, participate in and contribute to the digital world of today and the future’ (Department for Education, 2019). The Government will provide entitlement funding for learners aged 16-19 and 19+ (employed or unemployed) who have a foundation of limited digital skills and are taking Ofqual approved Essential Digital Skills qualifications.

The content of the qualifications is developed in accordance with the DfE National Standards for Essential Digital Skills and covers the five skills areas: 

  • Using devices and handling information. 
  • Creating and editing. 
  • Communicating. 
  • Transacting. 
  • Being safe and responsible online. 

Are you planning on delivering Essential Digital Skills qualifications? Get in touch with us to find out how we can support you.

Enquire about delivering Essential Digital Skills qualifications